Svetvinčenat was first mentioned in ca. 965 C.E. when the town started to develop around a Benedictine convent. The town is ruled by Grimani Castle which has two circular towers and living quarters. The castle's current shape dates from 1589 when the Venetian Marino Grimani remodeled and bought it. The castle was burnt down in 1945 and surrendered until the 1990s. It was broadly redesigned between 2017 and 2020. The town moreover features a number of churches, the oldest dating form the 13th century.